A fan from the Philippines... and here's my story :)

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Moderator: Moderators

archizzly

A fan from the Philippines... and here's my story :)

Post by archizzly »

I first came across Libera back in 2008 while I was doing a coding assignment. I was a College Freshmen that time.
I was looking for a calm distraction for my rather stressful week. The first Libera videos that I watched was "Orinoco Flow" and "Sanctus". I was overtaken by warm calming vibe while listening to their music that's why I became hooked.

From then on, I became a silent fan. whenever I have extra money, I would save it up to buy their CDs. I still have their Eternal, Christmas, and Peace Albums. I also attempted to attend their concerts here in the Philippines but no matter how hard I tried to save, I still could not afford the concert tickets. I was a struggling college student then (our family still coping with my mom's death, both emotionally and financially, while I am stuck in a college course I didn't really like)

Eventually, I became curious why at such young ages, Libera is already excelling in what they do. This led me to watch a video special on Youtube titled "Libera Songs of Praise". After watching the video, something awaken in me. A spark.

Being a church musician since I was young, music is not a stranger to me. I was so inspired by Robert Prizeman and how he trains the kids. I suddenly wanted to pursue music to teach it to the kids. For the first time in my life, I have a purpose.

With my heart full of uncertainties, I quit my first college course to pursue Music Education. It was not an easy journey. There are many instances where I doubted my abilities (especially during solfege classes and voice classes where my repertoire is Italian Anthology). I also doubted my decision maybe I made a mistake. But against all odds, I held on to that spark started by Libera. I graduated in 2014.