Name five musical pieces which you would like Robert

Talk about Libera here in.

Moderator: Moderators

dani
Diamond Member

Name five musical pieces which you would like Robert

Post by dani »

Prizeman or his team to arrange ?

John i have taken your suggestion and then opened a new thread :)

i hope you do not mind
john45
Gold Member

Re: Name five musical pieces which you would like Robert

Post by john45 »

Not at all.

I'll repeat my choices here to start the ball rolling.

Totus Tuus (Gorecki)
Adagio (Barber)
Adagietto from 5th Symphony (Mahler)
Halleluliah (Leonard Cohen)
Song for Athene (Tavener)
Surpinto
Platinum Member

Post by Surpinto »

Interesting question. I'm no expert in music and my lack of musical training and ability mostly inhibits me from imagining an instrumental, classical piece as a choral arrangement. I would say that another Mozart piece would sound amazing in RP's capable hands, as Ave Virgo has, even if I could not hope to name one. So being boring and unimaginative, I can only call to mind several better known choral hymns I would love to hear arranged for them to sing such as "Guide Me O Thou Great Redeemer" and "The Holy City". The Libera versions of traditional hymns tend to be the best versions I have ever heard.

Having said that, much of their best music has been original composition by RP. So I would just as well have that! :D

Sorry I could not list 5 Dani! But I am incredibly interested in what others will answer.
Yorkie
Diamond Member

Post by Yorkie »

john45 wrote:Not at all.

I'll repeat my choices here to start the ball rolling.

Totus Tuus (Gorecki)
Adagio (Barber)
Adagietto from 5th Symphony (Mahler)
Halleluliah (Leonard Cohen)
Song for Athene (Tavener)
The problem is you have picked 4 of my favourite choral pieces and the other one is a classic (as sung by Jeff Buckley, the original version by Leonard Cohen is meugh). But all things considered my favourite Libera pieces are those created by RP.